Musings on Life

Mourning the Double Space

After a year working as a content writer, I just got completely dicked on for still using the dreaded double space.  <- Yup, THAT ONE.

It hurls me back into the 90s when, once a week, our class had 30 minutes to type out what we did over the weekend, complete with double spaces (thanks for teaching us how to blog, Ms. Sackett!).

Ever since, I’ve jabbed billions of double spaces, so many you could cover the distance from here to the moon a hundred times over.

Until today.

Right. So why do people get so heated about this topic?

Well, it all boils down to this.

Typewriters used monospaced type which means every character (e.g. ‘i’ and ‘w’) occupied the same amount of white space on the page. As a result, the text looked jiggly and loose so it was harder to spot the spaces between sentences.

Enter: our beloved double space.

As soon as the double space was introduced to the typewriting world, a lot less people were confused and shit got read.

Fast-forward to the present and everyone hates “two-spacers” because monospaced fonts dissolved in the 70s. Thanks to computers, proportional fonts took their place (like those we type with!)

Though, interestingly, the typewriter-esque font, Courier New, is still considered to be monospaced.

But it’s cool, I’ve got the memo and I’ll cave (even though it physically hurts). It’s time to kill the double space. I’ll miss you, old friend.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Mourning the Double Space

  1. NOOOOOOOOO, I like to read the double space. I don’t notice it (who does?!?) but it makes reading more easy for me. But of course, you can chose how you type, it is your blog 🙂

    Like

  2. I had a boss in the nineties that kicked me of the habit. Every time I delivered something he’d make me do a find/replace from double space to single space. Now double spaced writing bugs me. I still do the find/replace but usually to find extra spaces left over from edits.

    Like

Leave a comment